Home Sweet Home

Ahhh, it’s always so nice to come home….

We’re gone, a lot. Especially the Hubs, since he travels for work. But as a family, we just spend a lot of time away from home. We live in the great state of Texas, so we spend most of our time traveling around the state. We just returned from an extended 4th of July weekend in the Hill Country. My in-laws have a place there. It’s a nice place. It’s a small place. And there were 5 adults and 1 two-year old. With all her stuff. And all our stuff. And one bathroom. Did I mention it was small? Like, 600 square feet small….

Let’s back up a moment and re-visit the part where I spent a long weekend in 600 square feet with my in-laws and one bathroom. Now, my in-laws are very dear to me. They’ve accepted me, treat me like one of their own and they adore my child. But things haven’t always been on the up and up. I’ve been around since I was 16 and my now husband’s parents suggested on more than one occasion that he see other people. It’s left me with a feeling of inadequacy for years. At 30, I can almost understand what they were suggesting; at 16? Not so much. It’s been a long road to where our relationship is currently at, but I’m happy with the progress. Ok, back to the weekend. So we met my in-laws at the Barn as they call it. It’s not a barn…kind of shaped like one but more like a simple cabin in the middle of the Fredericksburg woods. It’s got a tiny kitchen/living room. One bedroom, one bathroom, a massive garage, large front porch and a recently built-out bedroom upstairs done entirely in recycled barn wood. (It’s such a cool space. Except in the summer. It’s not cool. It’s sweltering.) And concrete floors. Now, my in-laws plan to retire to Fredericksburg one day (we think) and will eventually build a large home on their property. For now, the Barn is a weekend getaway. Which works splendidly, when you have far less than 5 adults and 1 toddler. The place is immaculate…even though it’s just supposed to be the Barn, concrete floors and all. I just felt so uncomfortable all weekend. I mean, we show up with a ton of stuff since we had our toddler away from home for 4 days and it looked like our house threw up in their 600 square feet of clean perfection. Every time I turned around, either my mother-in-law or father-in-law was cleaning something. I couldn’t put a cup down on the counter and walk away without it being moved to a less conspicuous spot or dumped, washed and put away! My father-in-law actually apologized that A might get dirty playing on the porch since he hadn’t scrubbed it. “You scrub the porch?” my husband asked in disbelief. “Yes” he replied and then went on to tell us why, how, how often… I would share it with you, but I stopped listening. It wasn’t awful by any means, but spending that much time, with that many people in that small of a space comes complete with its challenges.

We had a good time away from the Barn for sure. We attended the 4th of July parade in town and A thought it was the coolest thing. I love watching my child enjoy life and experience new things. It makes my heart happy. The town square has an awesome playground that we went to twice. Such a neat playground. We also made a trek out to one of the many wineries located in Fburg. We love Toerra di Pietra, they typically have live music and we either do a few tastings or grab a glass and enjoy the band. No music this time though, we went on the wrong day. We were able to pick up a few bottles of Classico and a few bottles of Dirty Girl. This makes me happy. Very happy. The Hubs, sis-in-law and myself spent several hours in Luckenbach on Sunday afternoon while A logged a 4 hour nap. I can’t think of a better way to spend a Sunday afternoon than a cold beer, good music and family. We ended the trip with a little walking on Main Street where A got to pick out a dinosaur cookie and a few new toys at one of the specialty toy stores. All in all a nice weekend. She even did really great during the 5 hour ride there and back home.

So we’re back home, for a while at least. After all, football season is right around the corner! And A is apparently going to back to Sea World very soon, so I suppose we should pick a long weekend, her father should take off work, we should find a hotel and go to Sea World with her.

Leave a Reply

