Why I Love Country Music

I’ve long since been a lover of country music.  Classic Country, Nashville Country, Top 40 Country, Texas Country…you get the idea.  Growing up my parents chose Christian music and oldies for us to listen to.  Once I was able to make my own musical choices, I gravitated towards country music.  During middle school and high school I would attempt to switch over to Rock, Rap or Alternative because hey, that’s what all the cool kids were doing, but I always came back to country.  I love it.  I also love Classic Rock.  But what person that has any taste at all doesn’t?

Country music is the only genre I’ve discovered that tells stories.  There are lots of running jokes about a country song talking about trucks, beer and dogs and well, that joke it fairly accurate.  But there are a lot of use that are pretty attached to trucks, beer and our dogs.  The Country music scene has put out some real doozies lately.  Several songs that really speak to me on a number of levels.  Let’s look at a few of them.  There are so, so, so many great songs, writers and artists out there.  If you’ve never given Country music a chance, try it.  You just might like it.  And I guarantee you’ll identify with at least a small part of it.

Here For A Good Time by George Strait

Written by George Strait, Bubba Strait (his son) and Dean Dillon

Even if you know nothing about Country music, you know who George Strait is.  Suffice it to say he’s a legend in the world of Country music.  And over the years he’s put out some great songs, but I particularly love the chorus of his latest single.  It goes like this:

“I ain’t here for a long time, I’m here for a good time.  So bring on the sunshine, the hell with the red wine, pour me some moonshine.”

The context of the song isn’t about being at some party or at a certain stage in life.  He’s talking about life in general.  I love the idea that life is too short and why shouldn’t we plan to live puling out all the stops?  Something I’d like to be better about. Listen to the audio only video here.

Love Like Crazy by Lee Brice

Written by Doug Johnson and Tim James

This one’s been out for a while but every time I hear it on the radio, I love it.  It resonates with me.  The whole song is great and tells a story from beginning to end, but here are my favorite parts:

“Be a best friend, tell the truth, and overuse I Love You.  Go to work, do your best, don’t outsmart your common sense.  Never let your prayin’ knees get lazy and love like crazy.   Always treat your woman like a lady, never get to old to call her baby, never let your prayin knees get lazy, and love like crazy.”

There is NO bad advice there.  None.  In fact, it’s a lot of little nuggets that seem to be left out of the rearing of our younger generations.  Even if some people just did ONE of the things listed above it would change lives. Take a peek/listen here.  LOVE IT.

If Heaven Wasn’t So Far Away by Justin Moore

Written by Dallas Davidson, Rob Hatch and Brett Jones (originally recorded by Rhett Atkins)

When I first heard this song, I had to turn it off.  And several times after that.  I’ve never encountered a musical genre that can touch souls as much as Country music can and does.  They sing about real life.  About pain, suffering and finding happiness in the most unusual ways.  They remind us that life isn’t perfect, yet we strive for perfection because there is a God that promises life after death.  This one was released in February of 2011, but I didn’t hear for the first time until after we lost the twins; in late March.  This song makes me cry.  It makes me smile and gives me goose bumps.  I recently learned that this is a remake but the original artist that recorded it didn’t have near as much luck as Justin Moore.  I love to hear it now and I love to sing along when it comes on the radio.  But I still get choked up near the end.  If you get a chance, watch the music video here.   Here are the lyrics.  I felt the need to post all of them because again, it’s a story.  Expect goose bumps.  Especially if you’ve lost someone you love and believe you will see them again some day.  Enjoy.

Every day I drive to work across Flint River bridge
A hundred yards from the spot where me and grandpa fished
There’s a piece of his old fruit stand on the side of Sawmill Road
He’d be there peelin’ peaches if it was twenty years ago
And what I wouldn’t give
To ride around in that old truck with him

If heaven wasn’t so far away
I’d pack up the kids and go for the day
Introduce them to their grandpa
Watch ’em laugh at the way he talks
I’d find my long lost cousin John
The one we left back in Vietnam
Show him a picture of his daughter now
She’s a doctor and he’d be proud
Then tell him we’d be back in a couple of days
In the rear view mirror we’d all watch ’em wave
Yeah, and losing them wouldn’t be so hard to take
If heaven wasn’t so far away

I’d hug all three of those girls we lost from the class of ’99
And I’d find my bird dog Bo and take him huntin’ one more time
I’d ask Hank why he took those pills back in ’53
And Janis to sing the second verse of “Me and Bobby McGee”
Sit on a cloud and visit for a while
It’d do me good just to see them smile

If heaven wasn’t so far away
I’d pack up the kids and go for the day
Introduce them to their grandpa
Watch ’em laugh at the way he talks
I’d find my long lost cousin John
The one we left back in Vietnam
Show him a picture of his daughter now
She’s a doctor and he’d be proud
Then tell him we’d be back in a couple of days
In the rear view mirror we’d all watch ’em wave
Yeah, and losing them wouldn’t be so hard to take

If heaven wasn’t so far
If heaven wasn’t so far
If heaven wasn’t so far away

Leave a Reply

