Per the Hubs

So, the Hubs is out of town and suggested to me earlier that I needed to put up a post to give him something to do between presentations today.  I might suggest to him that since I don’t believe he actually reads my blog, ever, that he start a few months ago and read through all the wonderful things I’ve recently had to say.  Hrumph.  Maybe he’d even have a thought about it, or I don’t know, perhaps a comment to leave!

It’s been an interesting couple of days.  My morning all-day sickness, which I thought was on its way out-of-town, has decided to return and stay a while.  Ugh.  I’ve been feeling less and less like myself and even less like a woman who is supposed to be teaching her little girl how to be a lady and is supposed to be at least trying to entice her husband and not scaring him away.  Instead, I mope around, curse having to get dressed, dread showering (it’s just so much work) and have to force myself to eat.  I know it’s not permanent, I’ve been here before, but it’s still rough.  My mother-in-law offered to pick up A from preschool today and keep her through dinner.  It basically gave me the whole day off, which was great because first thing this morning one of the dogs brought me a dead rat.  Lovely.  It’s cold here today (okay fine, cold for us, I’m wearing jeans and a cardigan!) and rainy.  It would be the PERFECT day for that Pumpkin Spice Latte I’ve been wanting.  But then again, the thought of said Pumpkin Spice Latte makes me kind of feel like hurling so I’ve decided to save myself the 5 bucks…for now.  Why in the world does one thing sound both appealing and repulsive at the same time?  I treated myself, well, Hubs treated me to a mani/pedi/eyebrow wax this morning.  I’ve been feeling rather gorrila-ish these days (see above) and I thought it might help me feel pretty.  It worked a little bit and my feet no longer resemble those of a Hobbit.  I still need that bikini wax and I think I’ll get a facial while I’m there because my waxing lady also does facials and massages.  And I figure, why the hell not?

I often find myself feeling rushed to complete chores when A is around.  That’s probably because I never actually get the opportunity to complete chores when A is around.  So I took some time today to clean her bathroom (her tub was filthy) and clean her room.  I’ve done some laundry and even put away the 36 rolls of toilet paper I bought from Costco 2 weeks ago that have been collecting dust bunnies in my entry way.  Not because I was feeling particularly motivated, but because I was officially out of tp in both bathrooms and I just couldn’t bring myself to tear into the package for 1 roll and leave the rest sitting there.  I thought about it.  I really did.  No word yet on when the 10 boxes of Kleenex will find their way home.  I’m also considering mopping my floors and making my bed.  These are lofty goals.  I’ve also been able to run the most obscure errands today.  I normally don’t mind A tagging along, but these errands today would require me to be out of the car for less than 5 minutes and to drag her in and out of stores for that is just insane.  For example: Tom Thumb to get the tags for my car renewed, Staples for a replacement toner cartridge, Babies R Us for kids’ hangars, eye doctor to get my glasses adjusted.  All things that needed to be done, all MUCH easier without a toddler in tow.  I miss A like crazy on days like today, but I know it’s good for me and good for her.  It’s just so hard to go from spending almost every waking minute with her to having her gone all day when I don’t really have an agenda.

You may remember that we took A to San Antonio a few weekends ago to visit Sea World.  We’d taken her back in April and when we bought our tickets we ended up buying passes that would get us into the park through the end of the year.  She had so much fun that we decided we should take advantage of those passes and do another trip.  We had fun, but I don’t think we had as much fun as the first time.  A wasn’t quite as interested in sitting through the shows this time and, well, that’s pretty much all Sea World is.  She still had fun feeding the sea lions and dolphins and was ecstatic to visit the aquarium and look at the fish, sharks and sting rays, but I think the novelty had worn off.  She’s also still VERY MUCH in need of a daily nap, and that’s hard to do in a stroller; she’s never been good about sleeping on the go.  Day 1 wasn’t too bad, but she was exhausted by Day 2.  We asked her at the beginning of Day 2 if she wanted to go see the Shamu show.  She said no.  Very clearly I might add…she wanted to go to the water park and told us so.  But we thought we knew better and went to the Shamu show anyways.  We ended up leaving half-way through the show because she just wasn’t interested and wouldn’t sit still.  She ended up falling asleep in her stroller as we were making our way back to the car and slept for over an hour while the Hubs and I ate lunch (in the car, for those of you thinking of reporting us to CPS).  Once she was awake we went back the park and she played, happily, in the water park for a few hours.  She even rode the carousel and her first roller coaster!  She wasn’t tall enough for the roller coaster last time, but she really enjoyed it this time and still talks about it.  It wasn’t the best trip we’ve ever had with her and if we were using this experience as a trial run to see if we’re ready for Disney, the answer is no.  Not even close.  It’s just too much for a little one that still needs sleep in the middle of the day.  She was beyond exhausted on the trip home and was literally bouncing off the walls when we stopped for lunch in Temple.  I thought I was going to come unglued and the usually endlessly patient Hubs had all he could take.  We made it home, thankfully, but it was a rough afternoon/evening.  Hubs left the house around 7 that night for Denver.  It’s a crazy life we lead around her.

The worst part about the trip was that no one, and I mean NO ONE could seem to get my food order correct.  REALLY frustrating for a pg woman.  And I wasn’t even expecting anything special…just what they said the dish was supposed to be on the menu!  To top it off, I really feel like the general population in San Antonio is just dumb.  I don’t know what it is about that place but everyone we interacted with during our stay there just seemed plain dumb.  I’m generally a nice person and assume maybe someone is just having an off day, but geez…it was mind-boggling.  I kind of felt like we’d stepped into an alternate universe.  Not one of my favorite cities in Texas.  My sister-in-law was kind enough to house/dog sit while we were gone.  Saved us a ton of money not having to board the 3 beasts.  They welcomed us home by invading my purse, eating 2 packs of gum and my travel container of Tums.  Don’t they realize I’m pregnant!  I think it’s just down-right mean to take Tums from a pregnant lady.  And if that doesn’t make you chuckle, how about the fact that Cosmo is scheduled for some dental work (teeth cleaning, growth removal, possible tooth extraction) in October and last night I discovered he’d taken the estimate from the vet off the desk and chewed it up.  I think he might be trying to tell us something.

Here are a few pictures from our trip…mostly from the water park.  Enjoy! 🙂

WM Seaworld 2011 4

WM Seaworld 2011 3

My whole life, in a picture.

WM Seaworld 2011 2

WM Seaworld 2011 1

This is probably one of my favorite shots that I've ever taken. I don't know what makes me love it so much.

One thought on “Per the Hubs

Leave a Reply

