Photography Class #1

I say #1 because I fully intend to take more.  I just had so much fun, learning, and I want to do it again.  I’m also thinking about looking into a local photography group to join…in all my spare time.  Here are a few shots that I took after the class was over.  I was at a great location and didn’t have anything else scheduled, so I stuck around and for an extra hour or so.  We had worked on metering, talked a lot about exposure and practiced under and over-exposing things (who knew one may DESIRE to have their photo be under or over-exposed?) to see the different effects (affects? I can’t decide at the moment) and also worked on my focus issues.  Turns out, I have a depth-of-field issue and not a focusing issue.  Most people tend to back away from the object they are photographing and use their zoom.  My natural inclination is to get close, too close it seems.  So, I’m working on taking a step or 2 backwards and adjusting my aperature setting accordingly, which until yesterday, I was using way too wide open.  I’m also jumping into manual ISO settings.  Up until now I’ve left my ISO on auto, but Julian and I can’t seem to agree on what the correct ISO setting is, so onto manual I go.

vines

waterfall

rosemary

potted plant

water lily

butterfly

water fountain

poppy

Leave a Reply

